What Happened To The Cool Black Brother?

 

As I write this, I’m listening to my playlist and searching on Google for a photo that is worth the scope in reference to the title of this post today.  I found this one and what better face to represent the genre of Cool then the late, great, Marvin Gaye.  His music was and is a soundtrack for this generation.

I’ve been thinking a lot about yesterdays gone by…and the one thing that keeps coming to my mind is the disappearance of the Cool Black Brother.  There was a time when you saw Black men, it was like watching poetry in motion. The way they talked, walked, and expressed themselves–art in reality.  There was a certain syncopation and movement that these brothers had.  Their bodies were well-formed; toned, naturally muscular, and yet, they had such stealth and dexterity.    The had a certain dip when they walked–it was righteous and unusual.  Like cats–their movement was smooth.  And that was only matched by the way they talked.  Cool Black men talked like no other.  Every word was like listening to Shakespeare with dotes of clever colloquialisms, observations, wrapped in congeniality and blessed with finesse.  They were never boring and could master the mundane, making it unusual and interesting.

I look at young Black men today and there is just something missing.  There is no energy in them.  They lack the cool of their forefathers.  And I worry about that.

America would be boring had it not been for the cool Black brothers.  They created Jazz, R & B, Funk, and Rap.  They mastered sports–taking it to new levels.  They were inventors, creative stylists, revolutionaries, actors, preachers, teachers, and poets.

I want to see them again.  I miss them terribly.

11 comments on “What Happened To The Cool Black Brother?

  1. Imhotep says:

    Some Cool Blk Brothers are still around wearing those Blk Kangol hats and leather jackets, but they grown men.

    Unfortunately, the thugs of the late 70’s and early 80’s started wearing Black (like they still do).

    Like

  2. I can’t stand the tattoos either I can stand a couple if they are on the upper arm or somewhere it can be covered up but when they have it covering their whole arm, oh no. And the ones dying their hair crazy colors smh.

    Yes a lot of young men today were raised by single mothers, and it is messed up because then the ppl of this generation who were raised by two parents and have a good head on their shoulders have slim pickings. It’s like we are left to choose from the lesser of two evils. I’m not interested in dating yet, but I do see how a lot of them act in my age group (19 on up). The ones that don’t have both parents are usually the most unbalanced, they are either too macho or too feminine. I do live around a lot of military or retired military ppl so they have their stuff together and I don’t see too much of the craziness.

    Like

  3. Adeen says:

    I am 17/18 and I wish to find a nice, ”cool Black man” that you write about in this article. Most Black men my age like thug music and date non Black women. I am thinking of dating outside of my race except for White men but I don’t know. Dating out goes against my belief system but I will never date a White guy ever.

    What is a young Black woman to do in this society?

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      First, Adeen, normally, I don’t allow anyone under the age of 18 to post on my blog–I didn’t realize your young age, but I will make an exception and allow you to continue posting.

      I do feel very sorry for your generation.

      Many young men today were raised by single mothers, and when you add to the fact that so many young men are very effeminate or gay; it’s even worse.

      There is a spiritual problem in America and young people like yourself are paying the price for the mistakes of those who are raising your generation.

      Like

  4. mstoogood4yall says:

    Yea the ones nowadays are missing something, I think it has to do with a lot of them not having fathers and knowing how to be a man. Older black men would give the head nod to other black men in the streets now that has changed. They used to call each other brotha now they call each other ni@@@. They used to make love songs for black women now they degrade us. They used to call women on the phone now they text. Its like no emotion just going throw the motions. Black men of the older generations I salute u, and the good black men left in this generation keep ur head up, I appreciate u.

    Like

  5. Much agreed. There has been a massacre, and we are left with dummed down versions of cool brothers. Tattoos instead of backbone.That makes it all the more delightful to spot one in a crowd. Peace.

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      I have just about had it with these guys walking around with these crazy looking tatoos. Do they even know what they are putting on their bodies? The body is a temple; I just don’t understand why some people treat theirs like a dump.

      Like

Leave a Reply

