Planning For My High School Reunion…Next Year! I’m Actually Excited!

Image

The first 10 year high school reunion–I skipped it.  I was still a little mad at some folks–and I wasn’t interested in seeing them.  The 15th reunion–well, it didn’t get me excited.  The 20th; uh, thought it was redundant since we had the 15th.  But ladies and gentleman, I’ve been out of school a long time, and I’ve recently been in touch with a lot of old friends and I must say, I’m actually interested in going to our 30th reunion.  Yup!  I can’t believe it’s been that long.

Our high school class was very close.  We were neighborhood kids and we socialized.  Believe it our not, our high school Homecoming Queen has not aged.  She could give some twenty-somethings a run for their money.  Seriously.  Hell.  Most of the class looks good.  God has been good to us.

I’m actually excited about going this time.  It’s been a long time.

Recently, I was reunited with an old friend–from 5th grade who I hadn’t seen or heard from for 25 years.  I searched high and low for her.  I put the word out on Facebook when I became a member in 2010.  It took some time, but after a recent inquiry about her; to my shock, two weeks ago while logging on–THERE SHE WAS.  Her face appeared on one of the groups I’m a member of.  I screamed.  And you better believe I sent her a note.

Our class has had a lot of success but we’ve also had tragedies.  There will be 8 people who are no longer with us.  They left behind children and dreams–dying way too soon.  There will be a tribute to them of course.

All in all, I’ve grown up and I’m anxious to see a lot of folks.

Some people leave high school and don’t look back.  That was me when I was much younger, but I’ve changed my mind about a lot of things and I’m more willing to actually try to make new friends and see old ones.

So, I’m going to make my hotel arrangements before the end of the year–and will anticipate going to the high school reunion this time.

GO WARHAWKS!

4 comments on “Planning For My High School Reunion…Next Year! I’m Actually Excited!

  1. Adeen says:

    That is nice. I am a senior in high school and I wonder how live after high school is like for Black females like me.

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      Hopefully you’ll have pleasant memories. It was very different when I was in high school. But happiness is a choice and my advice is to live life fully; make good friends that you’ll be happy to see 10, 20, 30+ years from now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

