Reuniting With Old Friends…

Image

This past month has been both hectic and joyful.

Not only am I nearing completion of my new novel; some old friends that I haven’t seen in decades, found me on facebook and hearing from them brought back so many wonderful memories.

Where we grew up, Chicago’s North Shore, it was almost like growing up in Mayberry. Most everyone that lived there were transplants from the south (African Americans).  It was a place where neighbors were never strangers.  There were kids all over the place, close-knit families, community pride, and very empowered people who had pulled themselves up by their bootstraps.  People had nice homes and kept their yards nice. Welfare was not even a thought for the people in my neighborhood.  We had fun playing and there virtually was no crime at all–you could walk around at night very safely. However, when we gradated from high school, naturally, the influx of new people, can change the the culture of where you live.  Drugs found their way to our once safe haven community, so did AIDS and gangs.  Life changed.

This is the reality of America.

But the one thing I have learned in my life if that: life is always going to challenge you, but no matter what; it’s a beautiful thing to have friends that remember you when you were young.

11 comments on “Reuniting With Old Friends…

  1. LOL!! Hey sis, sorry for being shallow but the whole time I was wondering which in the photo was you if any.

    I also enjoy reading about things that are familiar to me. You write about a lot of things that I grew up with. We–you and I have more in common than we probably know.

    Like

  2. TTNYCRN says:

    @TruthAngel07

    Thank you. Even though Im a millenial, I realize sometimes people could be young in years yet alot older in their respective thoughts. Of course, I will check in and look at the information you post on your blog. I like your blog for three main reasons TruthAngel07

    1)Hearing experiences of other black bloggers

    I obviously know that all black people do not think alike and thats fine, I love to hear different opinions. However to be real TruthAngel, there is something interesting that despite the facts that we come from varying walks of life, we all to some degree have knowledge about the white supremacist system that governs America and all the other countries(especially the Westernized nations) on this Earth. You are a black woman with Southern roots that grew up in Chicago and experienced the golden age of the black cultural revolution during the late 1960’s and the 1970’s. I’m a black man with Caribbean roots that grew up in New York City who sadly views the fact that many Negroes in this day and age are a living dead. Some of these commenters here are Southern, Caribbean, African, live in small towns, big cities, older, younger, etc. Yet, we all understand that there is a needed change in the communities in which we live.

    2)You are not a Willis Tower black blogger

    If Im not mistaken, you said in one of your posts, that there are some black websites that basically become white as they outjoin the Negroes. Its one thing however, if the black person is a pushover, or just a pawn in white supremacy. Nevertheless, there are some black bloggers out there that have an understanding of white supremacy and yet their blog still gets eaten up by white commenters. Why would any sane black person, who knows exactly that 9 times out of 10 when that happens it only leads to pointless firethrowing forums as the white commenters would probably say-You’re the racist, you’re the hater,etc. allow that on their blog? The argument is not constructive and does nothing to talk about the plight of Black America. In other words, some of these “conscious” black bloggers are nothing but the Willis(Sears) Tower, as a reference to your hometown of Chicago. They talk tough and big like a skyscraper but their black bodies seek and/or need white antenna material(advice). Im glad that your blog is not like that. It actually is brazen to talk about our problems and our problems dont get derailed.

    3)This is about our lives

    As human beings, one of the most important, if not the most important, thing is a right to life(survival). Well, when every area of human life on this Earth been impacted by white supremacy, we need to understand it as best as we can. When things happen to black people(e.g. high unemployment,discrimination, poor housing, poor health, early death), this is a direct toll on our survival. You talk about it, and I like that!

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      Afternoon, T. Thank you again for your comments and support. And THUMBS UP on your clever analogy: The Willis Tower. Got it. Great break down.

      I’d like to say that yes, I am for certain a brazen, uppity, pride, educated sistah that does not accomodate White Supremacy. I will not do it. Chicago has strong Black Nationalist Roots: Louis Farrakhan (NOI head) is there. Chicago’s Black community is very rich and one of the strongest in the nation. What you hear in the news is not reflecting the true culture there at all.

      When I started this blog; it was my response to the treatment I received on other sites. I really didn’t expect it to grow so rapidly. But people are naturally attracted to the truth and that’s what I serve here.

      I’m an author, T. And I encourage you to pick up my first book, A Journey Into The Mind of a Black Woman (Amazon). The Link image is on the main page of my blog. I wrote this book for young Black men like yourself and the information and knowledge within it will empower and elevate you.

      You’re always welcome on my blog and please…tell your family and friends about it as well.

      Sincerely,

      Truthangel

      Like

  3. TTNYCRN says:

    It is nice hearing about your childhood growing up in Chicago and the nature of black life back then. In fact, Chicago has been the backdrop of some of my favorite black media series(e.g. Cooley High, Good Times). You know TruthAngel, your description is something very similar to what I read about describing how close knit many black communities in the North(e.g. New York, Chicago, Philly,etc.) were when blacks started to go to these northern cities via the Great Migration periods. I read about the Brewster Housing Projects in Detroit where Diana Ross, Mary Wilson and the late Florence Ballard of the Supremes grew up-http://www.myfoxdetroit.com/story/23333584/demolition-scheduled-for-detroits-former-brewster-douglass-projects. Even though it was a housing project, most of the black families there were middle class and took pride in maintaining the quality of life in their community. It is very sad that Detroit is now basically a cemetery(no hope for life) for a city that means so much for Black America(e.g. Motown music, Nation of Islam,etc.)

    Even though my generation of black people sucks compared to yours, honestly TruthAngel, I do have a similar story to yours. As I said before, my family is from Trinidad(my mother is a mulatto of Black & Portuguese heritage but she is much closer to her Afro-Trinidadian roots). Anyway, growing up in the New York City borough of Brooklyn, most of my friends were and still are children of Black immigrants(e.g. Jamaicans, Trinidadians, Haitians, Nigerians,etc.). I grew up listening to good reggae music, eating some good Caribbean food and in my community, there was a focus on education and trying to attain a middle class life. The problem in my view, is that alot Afro-Carribeans have that classic immigrant lets make it in America focus, which tends to favor that assimilation and integrationist way of thinking. I think thats why I started to avoid the problems of Black America(e.g. gangbangers, being on welfare,etc.) and I was trying to “integrate” with White America. Well TruthAngel, after seeing how deep racism runs within White America, it was indeed a wake up call for me to understand about white supremacy more. While I regret being “integrated”, life is a learning lesson. I guess I needed to understand how deep and twisted the racism of White America truly is for me to see how our lives as black people gets harmed by this system of white supremacy.

    Hope you enjoyed my story TruthAngel, I liked yours.

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      TT, I really do enjoy your comments. I’m not sure how old you are, but you seem to have your head on straight. You’re a very sharp thinker.

      And I’ll be sharing more stories of course…

      Thank you so much for contributing to and enjoying my blog.

      Like

  4. Adeen says:

    I wonder when I will get to unite with old schools from high school twenty years from now. I am a young person and I believe how community is in bad shape. We need to fix it for the better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

