President Barack Obama is a Coward In Many Eyes…

Image

http://townhall.com/columnists/donaldlambro/2013/03/29/black-leaders-open-fire-on-obama-over-unemployment-n1552206/page/full

In some circles, you can’t say anything negative about the POTUS.  No.  Don’t do it.  The Negro Protective Brigade will try to hog tie you until you submit to the general consensus of love and acceptance for our nation’s first African American president.

Really.

So what!

Can I just be real?

Although I did cast my votes (both times) for President Barack Obama, I’m just not enthusiastic about him any longer.  Frankly, he bores me.  There’s no passion in him.  His words are empty and flat.  He seems almost animated these days.

The Republicans have really been handing it to him, but I blame him for his troubles at the White House.

Many African Americans expected the President to be The Great Big Brother and help many during this recession–in which unemployment is in the double digits. Well, that didn’t happen…and it was quite evident that Barack Obama avoided most issues that dealt specifically with the African American community.

Isn’t it somewhat ironic that we have a Black President, but African Americans are far worse off than during the Bush years.

Obama has not placed many Black officials in top level positions.  His staff is predominantly reflective of the white majority in society.  No diversity from a President who was elected by a diverse base.  Another irony…

Some Black officials are starting to speak out.

Earlier this month, Democratic Rep. Marcia L. Fudge of Ohio, the chairman of the Congressional Black Caucus, let loose with some stinging criticisms of Obama’s record on his appointments in his second term.

Image

“The people you have chosen to appoint in this new term have hardly been reflective of this country’s diversity,” she said in a letter to Obama. “Their ire is compounded by the overwhelming support you’ve received from the African-America community.”

Fudge and other CBC members complain that Obama has not devoted enough attention in his agenda to many of the critical economic issues within the black community, especially rising unemployment.

What many fail to understand that it is Obama’s anti-growth economic policies that have contributed to the high unemployment rate of AA’s.

The question was asked in the link attached to this post: Do White Voters Really Like Obama Because ‘He’s Not Really Black?

Honestly, I thought about that and after being in office for over a year, I’ve come to my own conclusion.

When I voted in the election for our nations president, I truly felt I put my vote on the best candidate. I did not vote for him because he was a man of color–I thought he represented America’s future and that was my initial reason for supporting his candidacy.

Obama won. I watched people cheer for him around the world. I took it all in…

He inherited a mess from the Bush Administration and then the economic fallout hit right in the beginning of his first term. He was put on the defensive by many white conservative pundits and there was no counter from anyone in the Black community or Black press. He distanced himself from the Congressional Black Caucus and makes a concerted effort not to be seen as a Black Power president.

Image

Issue after issue, he was dodging jabs like Muhammad Ali against Joe Frazier.

However, as just a regular American, the honest view of Obama is really very simple: he’s a COWARD .

When he made his cabinet selections, Obama appointed many people that worked for Bill Clinton–most of whom were white. Was this some kickback for beating Hillary in the election–to appease the man, some misguided Black folks coined as the nations first “Black President” back in the day?  I despised this term then and now. Clinton showed his true colors when it became apparent that Barack was going to win didn’t he.

What an irony.

What I see in Obama is an intellectual trying to lead–not a leader who makes bold decisions and uses his intelligence with the precision and sharpness of a Japanese Katakana sword.

He tries to please the “ right people ” too much. Or should I just come out and say what I really mean: He tries to please WHITE PEOPLE too much. He positions himself with the right (white) people so that he can attract the right (white) approval, but he’s dismissive and seemingly incapable of taking a bold stand on any issue which might cause him to be accused of being a BLACK MAN standing up for Black people in the eyes of white folks. That’s too costly and cuts through his race friendly image, and being biracial gives him the latitude to walk the fence. He does not want to offend his white supporters, even though many of them have abandoned him and some have had no problem joining the Tea Party.

Yet, Black folks sit in silence and watch all of this shit for fear of outing him and thus, giving the conservatives what they really want–infighting among us. Some don’t want to be labeled as race baiters but in my honest opinion, the one thing that you’re trying to avoid could perhaps be the very thing that liberates you.

However, we know what Obama’s problem is, right? He’s nothing more than a racial buffer.  A poser.  But his actions reflect those of someone who truly represents those in power and who are the enemy of Black people. Yes! White Supremacy rules the White House.

This country is still racist. And we all know this.

I found this comment in an article from Don Terry, who is a columnist for the Chicago Tribune: “Obama, the sandy-colored, half-white, half-black, Hawaii-born, Harvard-trained, civil rights lawyer with the magnetic smile, “is the literal embodiment of our cultural hybridity,” says Salim Muwakkil, a senior editor at In These Times magazine. “He’s mastered the cultural jargon of the Ivy League. That makes him less threatening, more soothing to white sensibilities. One of Barack’s great strengths is his complexity.”

Basically, what he is saying is that for whites, Barack doesn’t fit the image “they have” of African Americans and he’s “almost” one of them.

How does one rationalize this?

Remember when Senator Harry Reid basically exposed this sentiment when he said that Obama appealed to whites mainly because he was an articulate, light-skinned Black man who didn’t sound too Black. I’m paraphrasing, by you understand the point.

Right now, I’m entertaining thought just exactly what will be the legacy of his presidency. I’m just not happy with what I see and deep down, I feel that he’s weak–whites around him know it and they are controlling him–not the other way around. It is a weekly side show of just how much they aren’t afraid of attacking him and ridiculing him…yet, Barack chides that he is the President of “all Americans.” Right.

The Republicans demonstrated that they’d rather the country be shut down than back this man on any of his policies.  Their base hates him that radically.

Whatever…

On the real…I want a strong leader who makes not only bold decisions but provokes respect–even among those who do not agree with him.

It is understood that one many can’t change everything for everyone at the same time, but what is clearly perceived is that Barack Obama is not a man who can be strong in the face of uncertainty of issues; and has no back-bone to stand up to the very people that are literally poking their fingers in the face of those who benefited from Civil Rights; that it doesn’t matter that a Black man is the President; “We Still Control This Country.”

Why doesn’t Barack Obama seem to get this? Or then again… maybe he does.

14 comments on “President Barack Obama is a Coward In Many Eyes…

  1. TTNYCRN says:

    As black people, we should not even care about politics because 9 times out of 10(both Democrats and Republicans) seem to ignore us. Even though the new mayor of NYC has a black wife, I know that life in NYC for black folks is not going to become heaven on earth. We have to start with ourselves as individuals and then work as a collective front.

    Like

  2. The president pulled a fast one us all. Though I don’t vote for whatever reason and I’m really not that disappointed. The reason I wasn’t disappointed is because he’s a politician, and politicians lie for a living. I didn’t like when he talked down to Black people but again not disappointed.

    We just need to remember that the president came from a white womb, and that alone may make it impossible for him to care for Black people. As a whole.

    Like

  3. Adeen says:

    Great post and articles. You said everything that I ever wanted to say about President Obama and what is going on in government. Honestly I truly believe that President Obama is a weak president because he seems to lack the guts to stand up to the Teabaggers and the extremists on the Right. Plus I am disappointed in the fact that he failed to end the Iraq War, he didn’t get the country out of this bad economy as he promised he would, he kills millions of people with drones every day, didn’t close down Guantanamo Bay in Cuba like he promised, he allows lobbyists in this cabinet and promised not to allow lobbyists in his cabinet but in reality he is just like former President Bush but in Black face.

    Like

  4. Great post! You make some excellent points. Kudos! 🙂

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      Hi, Kushite. How’s the new year treating you so far?

      Like

      • I’m trying to cope. A close relative passed away three weeks ago. An undescribale pain! My family is taking it day to day. But with a strong faith we will get through it. I hope 2014 is a better year for me. Time heals all wounds.
        How is your year going?

        Like

      • truthangel07 says:

        First off, I’m sorry about your loss. I’ve experienced it as well. I had a young cousin killed in a car accident, my grandfather died before Christmas, and my Godmother just passed last weekend. Add to that, mourning the passing of some good friends over the years. I feel ya.

        However, the holidays were hectic for me: I cooked a lot; baking cakes and all. I’m happy basically. Just trying to get over this stubborn cold/flu virus.

        Like

      • I’m sorry to hear that. That’s really horrible. Death is never easy to deal with. It’s just a natural part of life. But over time you can overcome it. It makes your family grow closer in many ways.
        I had a slight flu a few months ago. It was not a pleasant experience. It’s still going around though. It’s the flu season right now. I’m trying not to catch it again. So many people around me sneezing and coughing. It’s not easy!lol

        Like

      • truthangel07 says:

        I know the feeling. It’s been about 3 weeks for me. I haven’t had an appetite and it’s made me weak. And then there’s this constant cough. Vitamin C and B12 is supposed to be good for that.

        Let’s pray for one another.

        My new novel is really becoming popular with readers. I didn’t anticipate people getting so attached to the story-line. It’s very humbling.

        Like

      • I hear you. We could all use a little prayer right now. Times are tough for people at the moment.
        Your books are on Amazon right? I need to create an account. I’ll be sure to check out your novels though. You’re a very gifted writer. Keep it up. Talk to you later. Got to go do some grocery shopping. Peace. 🙂

        Like

      • Thank you queen. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

