Being Mary Jane…I’m a Fan!

Image

Just started watching this show and I must say…it’s a nice change from what you have been used to getting on BET.

Gabrielle Union is really a very talented young lady and I’ve been a fan for years.  I’m very happy for her.  I honestly believe with the right part; this young woman could win an Oscar.  I like her natural ability–she’s very comfortable on screen and would you believe that she once felt that being dark-skinned was a hindrance.  Yes.  Believe it or not, Gabrielle Union–as beautiful as she is…actually felt self-conscious about her complexion.  I remember reading the article in 2010. Link: http://blackgirllonghair.com/2010/01/actress-gabrielle-union-talks-about-skin-color-and-hair-insecurities/ And she recently opened up about actually being a “mean girl”  as a panel guest at the luncheon for Oprah’s Next Chapter last year.  Yup.  Gabrielle had issues as is reflected in the speech overview she gave at that luncheon.  Link: http://sides2truth.com/2013/06/24/the-re-up-i-saw-dark-girls-how-gabrielle-union-proved-its-point/

It moved everyone in attendance.

Watch Speech: http://www.oprah.com/own-oprahs-next-chapter/The-Gabrielle-Union-Speech-That-Inspired-Oprah

I’m happy Gabrielle has grown up and I urge her to continue her growth.

Here’s an episode from her hit show Being Mary Jane from season 1)

2 comments on “Being Mary Jane…I’m a Fan!

  1. I thought you were talking about your love of the weed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

