Get My Latest Novel!

Image

http://www.amazon.com/Butterflies-Bronzeville-Sonya-Lavette-Bell/dp/1469903334/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1398872195&sr=1-1&keywords=Butterflies+in+Bronzeville

My new novel, Butterflies in Bronzeville is out and is getting good reviews so far.

In 2004, I made the decision to move to my home state of Georgia.  I thought it would be good for me but I found myself an outsider within a culture that does not embrace strangers–even those born in the state; but raised in the north.  Subliminally, I had a hard time adjusting and this lead me to find solace in embracing old memories of growing up in the city I loved so dear.  I always felt lucky to have been raised in the city of Chicago.  It is a truly great American city.  The treasures that it has, are found in its neighborhoods and the story I wrote is centered in one of them.

When I was writing this one, I listened to soul music and thought of happy times in my life while growing up in Chicago.  As I pondered what my new novel would be, I had to battle a serious case of being homesick.  Writing this book was great therapy and made me happy again.

Inspired by the great community of Bronzeville on Chicago’s south side; the characters are best friends, bonded for life through events and circumstances that shape who they eventually become.  Set in the early sixties; Butterflies in Bronzeville is an exciting coming of age tale of young people who grow up together during this time and living through all of the turbulence and change of that era, each their own butterfly, being transformed by each other, engaging the reader as well as capturing the imagination of what it really meant to be young.

Get your summer groove on with a great novel–by the end of the summer; what you’ve read will make you smile.

 

 

2 comments on “Get My Latest Novel!

  1. tinyurl.com says:

    Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?

    I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you
    discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would
    enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

    Like

Leave a Reply

