Black Is Still Beautiful, Baby!!!!

Link: http://ilovebeingblack.com/

Y’all will have to forgive me this morning (when I’m posting this) but I’m feeling a certain kind of way right now….*listening to Incognito* The melodies are prompting thoughts in my mind and I am high off of family reunions, class reunions, cookouts, book promotion, and all the stuff you do in the summer months. So, while trying to relax, I had a little -ting- that hit me, and I started thinking all of this stuff about what I loved, and one of those things is the fact that I’ve always felt that God did me a favor in selecting me to be of African descent.

You see…I’ve never had low self-esteem and it shocks me to the core when people just don’t get how special Black people are. We really are.

Look at our history in this world, scholars were so astonished by the accomplishments of early Africa, they had to hide it–give it a white face. Then the enslavement period, all but brainwashed many in believing the lie, but then…we started accomplishing things again after Freedom came. What we did literally changed America. Our creativity, style, expression, talent, brilliance, and complete originality, made us a standout. We were cool–inspiring our enemies to copy everything we did.

There is just something about us that other people can’t resist. We’ve got the gift. We’re so magnetic, everything around us is drawn to that energy.

Never for one day have I ever regretted being who I am. I love being who I am and don’t want it any other way.

I just wish that other Black people today would just stop for a minute, put down the superficial and really study yourself, your history, and BEHOLD what stands before you.

We are beautiful people and I thank the most high God for giving me the honor in calling myself African American.

18 comments on “Black Is Still Beautiful, Baby!!!!

  1. mochamadness says:

    the crack cocaine epidemic that began in the late 70’s. It was black males who purchased powdered cocaine from non-blacks, then cooked it into crack and sold it to other blacks. Of course, those males aren’t gonna take the responsibility because it’s better to cry racism than take the blame for destroying blocks and blocks of black neighborhoods. So they lean on the crutch of racism. Blame the non-blacks for bringing crack into black neighborhoods is what they did back then and still do today.

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      Yes, this is true. And quite frankly, Black men are paying the price.

      The statistics on Black males in this country is the most dismal that it’s been in 100 years.

      You can’t expect God to bless evil–and when you commit evil acts on your own people and community; quite naturally the Karma from that will be malignant.

      Like

    • DJ says:

      Yes Mocha but remember where the drugs came from in the first it was not from the black man alone. Open your eyes Mocha and see both sides of the spectrum. Black men sold drugs and still do today in order to survive and make a quick buck instead of doing it the hard way and getting an education and building REAL wealth over time and supporting our communities. But drugs is also destroying other races and their communities as well again Mocha it is a HUMAN thing not just a Black race thing.

      Like

  2. mochamadness says:

    Truthangel07,

    Every black person didn’t grow up in the type of community as you. In some cases, it may have seemed that way, but it didn’t stay that way for long. I don’t know how old you are, but I’m 50. I grew up around the type of people who stabbed each other in the back and talked disrespectfully behind other people’s backs. Black adults didn’t realize how much us teenagers paid attention to the way they spoke and acted toward one another. Us teenagers got a better understanding as we became older, like during high school. Please keep in my that I’m not referring to you, the people you grew up with, or every black
    person. I’m referring to the people
    (family, friends, and neighbors) I grew up with and around.

    During the 70’s, I was around the types of folks who were sleeping with each others husbands and wives. And they still do/are. These are the blacks who are not only breaking up their own marriages and relationships but other people’s as well. Not even giving a damn how it effects black children. Those situations have nothing, absolutely nothing to do with slavery, racism, or the white race. Blacks are tearing up families because they don’t care about the consequences until they suffer from those cosequences. Like having a guilty conscious.

    And sometimes, they won’t even own up to the wrongs they’ve done. Instead, they place the blame on whomever. Sure, black is beautiful. That was the black people’s motto back in the 70’s. But even back then (and now), if you call certain people black, be prepared to fight or get shot. Wanna know? Because the word black is more hated in the black community than the n-word. There are blacks who have the audacity to assume that if someone of a different race refers to them as black, then that person is a racist. I think not.

    In general, blacks have more problems because they cause so many problems for each other in their own comunities/neighborhoods.

    And please, let’s not forget

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      Mocha, I know what you’re saying…and yes, these things are very true as relates to our people in various areas of the country.

      However, the difference I had as a child was that to my mother’s credit, she chose the right area to live–and I saw very positive images of Black people all of my life. But the bottom line is this: I don’t care what is going on outside, one has to instill values in their own home and family. It’s all about family, and the community is a reflection of families that live within it. Thus, if the community is unstable, so is the family unit.

      I’d like to offer this video for you to think upon what is being projected by the Black people you illustrated–it really is deeply rooted in self-hatred. Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fl2O6Nomdos

      Like

    • DJ says:

      I agree with your statement I have seen the self destruction at first hand in the black community and it is still going on today. I have also seen a lot of positives as well in our community. The stuff you describe the blacks in the community doing is going on in all races and communities including Asians, Whites, and Latinos just open your eyes Mocha we are all human and infallible.

      Like

  3. mochamadness says:

    The black people I described are everywhere. Consider yourself blessed and fortunate that you didn’t grow up around them. Then again, if you did, you’d know that these types still exist. I see it everyday. For years, blacks have brought problems on themselves. It’s not white people or racism. On a daily basis, black females refer to their own children as b**ches and ni**ers. It’s not white people calling black children these names. Black adults are the reason why black children become adults who call each other such derogatory names.

    I live in a small predominately black town in New Jersey. Believe me, blacks are causing more trouble in black neighborhoods than any white person. Not just where I live but everywhere. Places like Chicago, Detrot, and Atlanta are filled with blacks causing destruction, pain, and horror. Black on black crime has been an epidemic for awhile now. The problem isn’t racism or the white race. Racism (and slavery) is just a crutch the majority of blacks lean on to excuse the behavior of out of control blacks.

    As a teenager I realized that blacks were were their own worst enemy. I guess you could say it’s personal with me since I grew up around these types of adult blacks. Whether they were family members, friends, or neighbors, it was those types of hateful blacks who taught self-hate to black children. Back then and even today, ignorant blacks call black children ugly. That’s not nice at all. I’m not saying all blacks because I don’t. But there are many black males and females who do.

    I’m not saying that there aren’t any white racist people in the world because there are. But black people aren’t around whites 24/7, every black child’s not being raised by whites, and it’s not whites plummaging through black neighborhoods killing blacks. Ignorant, ghetto blacks are the closest enemy of the black race. In a lot of black communities/neighborhoods, the most dangerous people are ignorant, ghetto males and females.

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      Mocha, I’ve read all of your words, and I feel you, sister. I really do.

      What I can offer as a suggestion for you is to face this issue in your community head on. Perhaps you could hold a meet-and-greet kind of forum, inviting neighbors in the community to talk about the problems you mentioned, and perhaps as a group, you could all find a solution.

      How does that sound?

      Like

  4. mochamadness says:

    Black may be still beautiful but not all black people are. When you hate you, you hate everyone who likes like you. Blacks wear a smile that’s really a smile turned upside down even while living among each other. I hear these (beautiful?) black people degrade and disrespect one another and everyone else on a daily basis, and then somehow manage to blame whites and racism. Oh, heck nah! There’s not a white person in sight.

    When I was younger, black adults welcomed white people with open arms to their homes. It was such a big deal to blacks when they had white visitors that blacks bragged about forever. Yet at the same time, blacks would talk about how racist whites were. That’s called the “Backstabbing Syndrome.” It’s something that blacks do to each other. It’s not something I call beautiful. Just my opinion.

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      Sweetie, I don’t know where you grew up, but I certainly can’t relate to the type of Black people you described.

      Where I grew up, Black people were smart, proactive in the community, articulate, well organized, owned businesses, beautiful homes, and were assertive in not only civic areas, but being BOLD and taking charge and winning elections. Basically, they were hands-on.

      We took care of our communities and the people looked out for one another.

      My culture is beautiful…and Black Pride wasn’t just a slogan–it was a way of life.

      Like

    • Shahidah says:

      I can’t relate to that either. Sounds more like a personal issue. Where are you from mochamadness

      Like

  5. Tyrone says:

    Sis…We take our African heritage and culture for granted. This is the problem that i see among many in our race. Other folk obsess over our music, dance, art, beauty, fashion-sense, and other aspects for a reason. They see what we overlook and downplay. Melanin is a prime example. We can stand in the sun and not get sunburn, they can’t do that. Yet, the crazies in our community want us to be lighter, makes no damn’ sense. Being colored has so many advantages over albinism, but, it’s about knowledge of self. Right now, black youth are sidetracked with facebook, twitter, headphones, and the like. We can do better than this… We Really Can!!!

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      It’s the parent’s fault, Tyrone.

      I share a lot of stories with young people about the past–Black culture is rich, and frankly, some of them were just not taught anything.

      Remember, those old Africans used to pass down our history orally, but this generation has apparently been omitted from that knowledge.

      That’s one of the reasons I use my blog–to communicate what is happening in the world to my people, but also, it is utilized to educate.

      I just hope people are listening…

      Like

  6. Shahidah says:

    I think part of the problem is that many really don’t know how rich our stories are. Even in slavery we have rich history. We triumphed through that time and our freedom wasn’t just given to us we FOUGHT for it. Abe Lincoln didn’t save us we saved ourselves, we were and are our benefactors. When we were told no to education we did it anyone and educated ourselves. we built towns and owned our own and others destroyed it because they hated seeing our light and our independence. When I tell my children about our history I emphasized our strengths not the story school gives them…we were slaves and Lincoln freed us!
    Yes our black is beautiful, our souls are deep and compassionate, our style is envied and our words are lyrical! I celebrate right along with you…I wish we all did

    Like

    • truthangel07 says:

      Ignorance is bliss, Shahidah. Many Black parents don’t teach their children anything.

      When you see young Black children thinking it’s cool to hang with whites–never questioning why those white kids want to be around them (The Black Friend Syndrome), it’s all an act, but they just aren’t discerning the deception, falsely believing they are really being accepted for who they are, as opposed to how it makes the white kid look (cool).

      If I pray for anything…it’s for Black folks to WAKE UP!

      Like

Leave a Reply

