How Do I Slay?

What does slay mean?  It means that one absolutely, positively, most profoundly, executed something beyond the measure of greatness or perfection.

Think about that.

Are we living our best life? Are we giving our best?  Do we do what we say? Or is there a contradiction to the person you are versus the person you think you are?

You grow up thinking you know who you are.  All of my life, I had been told: “Be who your are“. For a time, I was in search of that person. Who was she?  The journey began at the tender age of 16–and 20 years later, the author of this blog was birthed.  The road was bumpy at times, and I didn’t always know which way to go, but a little voice inside me told me where to walk.  I listened.  The things I learned.  The adventures I had.  All educated me about my–SELF.  The REAL ME that was inside of me, waiting for an invitation to BE.  It wasn’t an easy journey.  At times, I felt lost, confused–even trapped.  But something kept telling me to walk.  I obeyed.  Through this journey, I discovered  who I was born to be.  What my purpose was; and that I had value.  I had never felt that before.

I discovered my Blues. And I lived to tell my story to people around the world who were looking for their true selves.

I AM A REVOLUTION! Loving yourself in this world today, truly is a powerful statement, considering everything that tries to convince you of the contrary.

Self discovery does not come from buying designer clothes.  It is a process of elimination of false imagery, vincible ignorance, arrogance, fear, and facing the real hypocrite–YOU. Yes.  When we embrace the superficial, we are accepting lies as truth.  That thread must be broken.  God hates liars.  We were made in his image.  And he ain’t havin’ it.

Thus, I embraced TRUTH.  And I’ve never regretted it.

How do I slay? My life backs up my words. And the reflection in my mirror doesn’t snicker when I turn my back.

I have declared 2016 to be: MY YEAR.  And thus, I believe it to be so, thus, IT SHALL BE!

And this is how I slay…

8 comments on “How Do I Slay?

  1. Nice post! But which god are you talking about? This is very confusing in a world full of gods (jesus, allah etc.). God seems like a matter of geography!

    Like

    • Truthangel07 says:

      The Almighty God of Israel. The capital letter should identify the Supreme One.

      Like

      • Ok. But I think proud African should stop using word giving to them by their oppressor to identify the ‘Supreme One’. We get this thinking about one god from our oppressors religions. Why not 3, 4, 7 gods? Where was this ‘Supreme One’ during the enslavement of our people? We should start putting rationality in our ways of thinking, otherwise we are still their mental slaves.

        Like

      • Truthangel07 says:

        This is not a debate for me. I believe in Almighty God. Period. Our enslavement was all part of his plan; and we must not forget that Africans played a part in it as well.

        Like

  2. Very powerful and profound. You really gave me something to think about. Thanks sis

    Like

Leave a Reply

