Hot Shit!

hqdefault-3

I’m sitting here looking out the window, listening to Common’s Like Water For Chocolate, and this track (title) is playing.  It got me to thinking about a lot of things; and the title has me feeling some kind of way.  Remember the days when Black music made you get amped?  I’m not feeling this current state of negativity and fear right now.  I’m a warrior and I’m looking for the battle–not running from it. I’m just that kind of chick.

Where are the warriors!  Where?  Where are those dudes that walked down the street in the neighborhood who walked in a squad–like African lions, fearless, strong, no equal in sight?  Their presence was bold; and no one dared challenge them.  Cold Blooded. Ruthless.  Kings!

There was a time when Black folks walked like the kings and queens we called ourselves. We were uppity.  Proud.  Unapologetic.

BLACK AMERICA IS DEAD!

Black culture has been on a respirator and so has the country.  Our spirit has been weakened and this country it seems is on life support.  When our fire rises.  America soars. It is our energy that makes everything move with rhythm.  From music to fashion, everything we touched was more creative.  Like the sun brightens and nourishes; so did our culture do the same for this country we call America.

Love and Happiness.  Will it return?  Will we dance again?  Will the funk revive the Funkateers who have been hibernating, in distress from so much gloom?

I wonder.

So I listen to Common.  And I hunger for something different to revive us.  Something that will make the light shine again.  I miss good times.

And so I fantasize we’ll be happy again.  Making this place pop!  Elevating everything around us!  It’s time to push evolution through our consciousness.  Create from the divinity within each of us.  Find out identity again.

It’s time to flip this script!

Time to start a new thing!  Afrofuturism please!  Take us away…to another galaxy.  Our existence here has been compromised.

The world is waiting for Black People to return!