WTF?! Kendrick Lamar Has Arrived!

kEzLPvdQ

Good Afternoon.  Or whenever you read this.  Today…I am in a state of “awe.”  Yes.  By now.  You’ve already heard about and listened to this album.  Aptly entitled, DAMN.  It’s Kendrick’s Lamar’s latest release.  And I have to say, as a new fan, this young man has earned his spot as the G.O.A.T.  No argument.

As an artist, it is one thing to have a hit album.  But when you keep topping yourself, you’re not just another entertainer, you are a genius.  And Kendrick Lamar has a vision and purpose with his music.  His passion and his love for what he does spills into every track on this album.

I have to be honest, my first introduction to Kung Fu Kenny, came by accident in overhearing a discussion about the Grammy’s.  This person was awestruck by Kendrick’s performance.  Honestly, I really wasn’t expecting much.  Given that I had stopped listening to rap after Tupac and Biggie died.  Curious, I decided to Google it anyway,  although that I didn’t watch any awards shows any longer.  I checked it out, and I have to tell you, it blew my mind.  Needless to say, I watched it many times.  It moved me on that level.  The last time that happen was when I watched Michael Jackson’ Emmy nominated performance of Billy Jean and Prince’s performance of Purple Rain on The American Music Awards.  Kendrick was in a different league, forcing EVERYONE IN HIP HOP to raise their game.

That’s what true artistry does.

I’m listening to DAMN as I write this. And I’ll listen to it some more.  It’s that good.

If you haven’t listened to this album, MAKE SOME TIME to do so.

You’re listening to a legend in the making.  Saying that, I wonder what Tupac Shakur would say…

Extra:

12 comments on “WTF?! Kendrick Lamar Has Arrived!

  1. soul60 says:

    Ah Yeah !!!,I checked out those cuts.The lyrics are hard and dropping some heavy mental knowledge.I hope more older black’s tune in to the sound. So they can use it to relate to their kid’s and other young black people who grooving to this brother for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Truthangel07 says:

      Older Blacks (myself) are listening. Personally, I stopped listening to Hip Hop/rap after Tupac died. And I don’t listen to radio anymore. But I grew up on GREAT MUSIC. Black music has suffered in this Millennium, mainly, mediocrity and inconsistency killed it. Kendrick Lamar earned my respect from his Grammy performance. I am very impressed, indeed.

      Like

  2. ScejaMan says:

    We Africans look up to African Americans! This brother’s music is a big hit among African people and his lyrics are INSPIRING!

    I am picky when it comes to music and only listen to positive and uplifting music. When I have the time I’ll check this album out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Truthangel07 says:

      Please do, SceJa. It’s already number one and the album just made history. Every single song on the album hit the Billboard charts! Not even Prince or Michael Jackson ever did that!

      Like

  3. Truth, I forgot, Kendrick is right. Black folks are going to be alright. As soon as we stop selling our souls to get wp money. What I mean buy that is we have to stop letting wp tell our stories with their narratives. Danny Glover, please don’t sell the Haitian Revolution to wp. GOD BLESS

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Truth, Kendrick has definitely arrived. I was watching Soundtracks on CNN. Well they did a segment where Jessie Jackson arrived in St.Louis after Michael Brown’s murder. He tried to lead the crowd into “We shall Overcome” but Kendrick’s “We gonna be alright” just took over. Old black folks was pumping fist in the air on that one.I agree with Dr.Umar, Jessie Jackson & Al Sharpton are outdated, I never liked either anyway. I heard some songs by Rick Ross that blew me away. I normally don’t buy a lot of rap CD’S ,but Rick Ross & Kendrick have my ear. But tbh , as far as a movement,nothing will be better than Public Enemy “Fight the Power”. Did you hear that some black NFL Players are in Haiti building schools with their own money. I thought we black men was a waste to our communities. Black on black crime is down.Tell the the lying media to carry on.Thanks Truth GOD BLESS

    Liked by 1 person

    • Truthangel07 says:

      There is a lot of good being done by people in our community but the news doesn’t report the GOOD; buy try to manipulate a narrative of Black men being the ones to fear. However, God is exposing everything white people have tried to do to our people.

      Like

  5. I’ve heard a few tracks. They sound pretty good. A lot of people have been waiting for this album. I heard he outsold Drake in sales this year too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

